News

Braskem announces 2Q17 Results and invites to the conference call

São Paulo, Brazil, August 15, 2017 - BRASKEM S.A. (B3: BRKM3, BRKM5 and BRKM6; NYSE: BAK; LATIBEX: XBRK) announces today its 2Q17 results.

HIGHLIGHTS:

Braskem - Consolidated:

  • EBITDA: US$945 million (R$3,029million) ,advancing 10% on 2Q16;
  • Net income of R$1,142 million in the Consolidated and R$1,089 million in the Parent Company. YTD, consolidated net income amounted to R$3,056 million, while net income attributable to shareholders came to R$2,897million;
  • Financial leverage in U.S. dollar stood at 1.63x or 1.85 including the financial penalty under the Global Settlement.;
  • In compliance with the Global Settlement, Braskem paid a financial penalty equivalent to R$607 million, of which US$65 million was  to the U.S. SEC in April, CFH30 million to the Swiss Office of the Attorney General in June.

Brazil:

  • Crackers operated at  an average capacity utilization rate of 93%, down 2p.p. from 1Q17 and 1 p.p. from 2Q16;
  • Demand for resins (PE, PP and PVC) came to 1.3 million tons, growing 2%  from 1Q17;
  • Sales in the Brazilian market: 844 thousand tons, 2%  and 4% up on 1Q17 and 2Q16, respectively;
  • Resin production in 2Q17 reached 1.2 million tons;
  •  Resin exports stood at 367 kton, 12% and 19% lower than 1Q17 and 2Q16;
  • YTD EBITDA of R$4,793 million,  accounting for 71% of the Company's consolidated EBITDA from all segments.

United States and Europe:

  • As from 2Q17,  the annual capacity of units in Europe reached 625 kta, an increase of 80 kta;
  • Capacity utilization rate of PP plants: 95%, 6 p.p. and 8 p.p. down from 1Q17 and 2Q16, respectively;
  • Sales: 516 kton, decreasing 3% from 1Q17 and increasing 2%, from 2Q16;
  • YTD EBITDA: US$308 million (R$977 million), 14% of the Company's consolidated EBITDA from all segments.

Mexico:

  • PE plants  average capacity utilization rate of 83%, 14 p.p. lower than 1Q17; due to operational adjustments and punctual adjustments in the Ethane Supply;
  • PE Production:  217 thousand tons, 13% lower than 1Q17;
  • YTD Sales: , 503 kton, 50% sold in the Mexican market;
  • YTD EBITDA: US$312 million (R$992million), representing 15% of the Company's consolidated segments.

To download the Earnings Release 2Q17,  click here 

Braskem will host Conference Calls to discuss its results tomorrow, August 16, as follows:

Conference Call in English

01:30 p.m. (US ET)
02:30 p.m. (Brasília)
10:30 a.m. (Los Angeles)
06:30 p.m. (London)
USA participants: +1 (516) 300-1066
Other countries participants: +55 (11) 3127-4971
Conference ID: Braskem

Click here for the webcast

Conference Call in Portuguese

12:00 p.m. (US ET)
01:00 p.m. (Brasília)
09:00 a.m. (Los Angeles)
05:00 p.m. (London)
All participants: +55 (11) 3127.

Conference ID: Braskem

Click here for the webcast